Snapchat is a social media app that allows you to connect and share posts with a ton of other users. It is easy to use, and easier to be connected. However, what happens if there is a ,message pending? Or what happens when you unblock someone on Snapchat?

How To Unblock A User

Unblocking a user is easy to do, and it takes no time at all. You could want to unblock someone due to a misunderstanding, a mistake, or time to cool down. However, if they are harassing you then it is best to report them and keep them blocked.

napchat application on iphone smartphone

,To unblock someone you would have to log into your Snapchat account. Then you tap your profile picture which is the Bitmoji face in the top left corner of the screen. If you do not have a Bitmoji face profile picture then the image will look like a silhouette of a head and shoulders.

Tap on the cogwheel icon which is to open up the “Settings” menu. It is located in the top right corner of the app. When you are in the menu you scroll down until you find the “Account Actions” section which is usually at the bottom of the list.

In this section, you will look for the “Blocked” tab. Pressing it will bring up the list of people that you have blocked. You search for the username that you want to unblock. Next to their name, there is an “X” which you tap. A prompt will pop up asking for confirmation, and you confirm if you are sure about your decision. This will make them unblocked, therefore, they can interact and view your snaps.

When the user is unblocked you may have to add them back to your friend’s list, depending on their privacy settings. Before doing so, double-check if their name appears on your list. If not, you can search for their username and add them back to your list. This can take up to 24 hours for their name to appear on your list.

How To Block Someone

Blocking people on any social media app is usually a last resort due to safety reasons or plain annoyance of the users. Plus, blocking users on Snapchat is very easy to do. Doing so will make your Snapchat account vanish from the blocked user. This means that they cannot see your snaps, send you DMs, or even view past DMs. Blocking can be done with Android or Apple products. The ,first step in the blocking process is to log in to your Snapchat account.

Once you are logged in, you swipe to the right to open up your “Friends” screen. Then look for the username that is giving you issues. When you find the name, you can hold on to it for a menu to appear. The last few steps are that you select the “More” tab, and then tap the “Block” option. And this will block your “friend” from interacting with and seeing your posts. However, if they are not on your friends’ list then you can search for them.

All you would have to do is to tap on the magnifying glass next to “Friends” that is located at the top of the screen. Type in the username you want to block. After you find them, you hold on to their username, and then select “More”. Finally, you press “Block” and then they are blocked.

Why Block?

As we briefly mentioned, there are several reasons that blockage could occur. One is that they are harassing you, or just getting on your nerves. If it is the former, you should report them. If it is the latter, just block them so you have peace of mind. Blocking someone on Snapchat stops them from interacting with you from watching your snaps and stories or Group Charms. Furthermore, the blocked user cannot send you DMs, snaps, or any type of interaction.

Blocking users on Snapchat make you invisible to them. However, removing friends means that they can still see your public posts. If you want people not to see your posts, you must block them and not just unfriend them. And, they would not know if they were blocked by you unless they do research and follow up on it. Likewise, how you would have to research to see if you were ,removed from someone’s Snapchat friends list.

Why Unblock

As we have pointed out, Snapchat users may want to unblock people due to misunderstandings that have happened. It could also be that time went by giving both parties a chance to cool down. Maybe the other user apologized?

Therefore, they wanted to interact with the block users again once the waters are calm. There could be countless reasons that people block people, likewise, that people unblock people. As long as the users are not a threat, they can be unblocked.

To Sum Up

To unblock a user so that they can interact with you again, as well as view your snaps is an easy process. Just go to your settings, look for “Blocked” and find their username. Then press the “X” next to it, and you are done. You may have to re-add them to your friends’ list. The thing about Snapchat is that it can be easy to use once you get used to it.

Man holding a smarphone with Snapchat app yellow logo on dark background

The point of social media is to share posts with the world, but not people you do not want to know. Therefore, be careful when using social media apps, this is a rule of the internet/ online interaction. We hope this article made the steps clearer. There is a lot you can do with Snapchat such as ,changing to the dark mode or add new filters. Either way, it is a fun app with great users.

But, you may come across a few that are dodgy making you feel annoyed or unsafe. The latter must be reported with the former you can block. Happy snapping!